Image Upload

File size must be less than 500kb

File types (jpg, png, gif)


Border bubble

Border bubble

NSW now declared a 'red zone', but bubble still in effect

All of NSW and the ACT has now become a red zone, with the Victorian government saying the border is "effectively" shut between the two states.

This is the third time the Victoria/NSW border has shut in 13 months - this time spurred by the outbreak in Sydney, which saw 77 new cases and one person die yesterday.

The border bubble is in place, meaning those living on the NSW side can enter Victoria, but must stay within the border zone.

Article continues below

"If you live in the NSW cross-border area, you can enter Victoria without a permit but you must travel with proof of address," the Department of Health stated.

"Conditions apply. You cannot enter if you have been to a red zone outside of the cross-border area, or if you have COVID-19, any symptoms, or have been defined as a close contact by a state health authority.

Yesterday, Victorian Premier Daniel Andrews said they want to make sure that there is as little impact as possible to the border bubble, but that they will make changes, if needed.

"We understand that any changes to that bubble is very challenging. We will do everything we can to minimise that, but safety comes first," says Andrews.

"It's not like if you live on the Murray, or you live on the South Australian border, you can't get COVID, you absolutely can."

Victoria residents who have travelled outside of the bubble in NSW will need to apply for a red zone permit when they return, and possible quarantine for 14 days.

The Latest

Join Us